2020 Therapeutic Guidelines/RACGP Foundation Research Grants recipients announced

A warm congratulations to Professor Lisa Amir and Dr Mina Bakhit, recipients of the 2020 Therapeutic Guidelines/RACGP Foundation Research Grant. Since 2012, Therapeutic Guidelines has provided annual funding for grants of up to $100,000 to support research into the use and implementation of guidelines in general practice. Over the last decade, this has resulted in close to $1 million being awarded to Australia’s foremost primary care researchers.

As in previous years, this year’s recipients will be delving into important aspects of primary care prescribing. Dr Lisa Amir is a general practitioner and International Board Certified Lactation Consultant. She is the author of over 100 peer-reviewed articles on breastfeeding. Her project, titled Understanding antibiotic prescribing for mastitis in breastfeeding women; a mixed method study, will aim to:

  1. Describe how GPs around Australia treat mastitis with antibiotics to see if they are following the antibiotic guidelines for best practice.
  2. Understand how GPs make decisions about prescribing for breastfeeding women, and how they use guidelines.

Dr Mina Bakhit is a researcher at the Institute for Evidence-Based Healthcare, Bond University. His project, titled Evaluating the usability and effectiveness of Therapeutic Guidelines additional features on antibiotic prescribing for acute infections in general practice, aims to understand barriers to the use new resources in eTG complete, such as shared decision making tools.

CEO Dr Leigh-Anne Claase reflects:
“Primary care research is important because general practice is the most used health service in Australia. TGL is proud to support research in this regrettably underfunded area, particularly because general practitioners are a cornerstone of the TGL community. Further, TGL is committed to continually adapting what we do to better meet the needs of subscribers, and independent research guides our evolution.”

Past recipients of Therapeutic Guidelines/RACGP Foundation Research Grants include:

  • Dr Jo-Anne Manski-Nankervis (2019, 2017)
  • Professor Mieke van Driel (2018)
  • Assoc Prof Michelle Guppy (2016)
  • Dr Carissa Bonner (2016)
  • Prof Jane Gunn (2016)
  • Prof Mark Nelson (2015)
  • Prof Danielle Mazza (2015